Key Stakeholders

Section 5307 Providers

Small urban transit systems are eligible to receive Federal Transit Administration (FTA) funding through Section 5307. §5307 funding is available for transit capital and operating assistance and for transportation related planning in urbanized areas (Census-designated areas with a population of 50,000 or more).

  • Duluth Transit Authority
  • East Grand Forks Transit
  • La Crescent Apple Express
  • Mankato-Greater Mankato Transit
  • Moorhead Metropolitan Area Transit
  • Rochester Public Transit
  • St. Cloud Metro Bus

Section 5311 providers

FTA Section 5311 funding provides capital, planning, and operating assistance to rural areas (populations less than 50,000) to support public transportation.

  • Arrowhead Economic Opportunity Agency
  • Becker County Transit
  • Brainerd/Crow Wing Public Transit
  • Brown County Heartland Express
  • Cedar Valley Services, Inc.
  • Central Community Transit
  • Faribault Martin County
  • Fosston Transit
  • Granite Falls Heartland Express
  • Hibbing Area Transit
  • Hubbard County Heartland
  • Isanti County
  • Minnesota River Valley Transit
  • Morris Transit
  • Paul Bunyan Transit
  • Prairie Five Community Action
  • Productive Alternatives
  • Rainbow Rider
  • Semcac
  • Southwestern Minnesota Opportunity Council
  • ThreeRivers Community Action, Inc.
  • Timer Trails Public Transit
  • Trailblazer Transit
  • Tri-County Action Program
  • Tri-Valley Opportunity Council, Inc.
  • United Community Action Partnership
  • Vine Faith in Action
  • Wadena County Friendly Rider Transit
  • Watonwan County
  • Winona Transit

Tribal providers

The FTA Tribal Transit Program funding provides capital, planning, and operating assistance to Federally recognized tribes in rural areas to meet the growing needs of rural tribal communities.

  • Bois Forte Band of Chippewa – Big Woods Transit
  • Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa – Fond du Lac Transit
  • Leech Lake Band of Ojibwe – Tribal Transit
  • Red Lake Nation – Red Lake Nation Transit
  • White Earth Nation


Regional Transportation Coordinating Councils (RTCCs), developed by the Minnesota Departments of Transportation and Human Services, in collaboration with other state agencies, lead coordination efforts between transportation providers, service agents and the private sector to fill transportation gaps, streamline access to transportation and provide individuals more options of where and when to travel (source

  • Arrowhead Regional Development Commission
  • East Central Regional Development Commission
  • Headwaters Regional Development Commission
  • Mid-Minnesota Development Commission
  • Northwest Regional Development Commission
  • Prairie Five Community Action
  • Region Five Development Commission
  • United Community Action Partnership
  • West Central Minnesota Communities Action

%d bloggers like this: